Can you Copy Eldritch Evolution with Riku if you Sacrifice Him?
Asked by Sultai_Sir 4 years ago
There's not much else to say. If I sacrifice Riku of Two Reflections to Eldritch Evolution , can I still copy it?
There's not much else to say. If I sacrifice Riku of Two Reflections to Eldritch Evolution , can I still copy it?
Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1
Unfortunately not, during the process of casting a spell, a spell is not considered cast until all payments have been made, which includes sacrificing a creature in this case.
Because of this, Riku will not be on the battlefield at the point his ability would trigger.
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h).
601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs.
601.2h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can’t be paid.
601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it’s cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time.
April 26, 2021 1:52 p.m.