Can you Call to Mind Call to Mind?
Asked by Pseudonym394 13 years ago
This was brought up in an argument with a friend regarding my Pyromancer Ascension deck, specifically, the ability to Call to Mind the Call to Mind . So, can you return that Call to Mind to your hand, with itself? That is my understanding of how it works, as a single Call to Mind and a single Time Warp , with an active Ascension, will (supposedly) create an infinite turn combo.
So, if you had an active Pyromancer Ascension and cast Call to Mind , your original cast would go on the stack and then trigger your Pyromancer Ascension . This would place a copy of Call to Mind on the stack. The copy would resolve before your original Call to Mind , and you would not be able to return it to your hand.
However, if you had two Call to Mind s. One already in the graveyard and one in your hand. You could return Call to Mind to your hand once every turn. And if you also had Time Warp in the graveyard, you could return it and cast it every turn, giving you and infinite turn combo for 8 mana each turn.
July 7, 2011 2:09 a.m.
xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx says... #4
you need to already have a call to mind in your graveyard when you cast a call to mind to grab it from there but if you have one in your hand and one in your graveyard you can cast one to get the other then cast the other to get the one you cast first that turn and can do that as many times as you have mana for it
July 7, 2011 2:31 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #5
Call to Mind cannot target an instant or sorcery that is not in a graveyard. Therefore, it cannot target itself, because it is on the stack.
Additionally, according to the comprehensive rulebook:
114.4. A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself.
This is important because you may not use the same theory and apply it to other spells (I.e., you may not cast Cancel targeting itself).
July 7, 2011 3:09 a.m.
Epochalyptik, Wakleon and lykideus are all correct.
Pseudonym394, if you are satisfied with an answer, you should 'accept' one so that this thread pretty much closes, and someone gets a stat for answering.
Finally, I don't mean to sound harsh, but xxxxxxCronoxxxxxx, could you please use punctuation in your comments (especially if you are answering Q and A), because I struggle to read your posts. Thank you.
lykideus says... #1
No, because it will go to your graveyard after resolving, and you need to declare targets when you cast it.
July 7, 2011 2:05 a.m.