can i use i use ob nixilis, the fallen and ob nixilis, unshackled at the same time?

Asked by vlad1431 10 years ago

can i use i use ob nixilis, the fallen and ob nixilis, unshackled at the same time?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. Although they represent the same character, the "Legend Rule" cares about the card's name, not what the card represents. Ob Nixilis, the Fallen and Ob Nixilis, Unshackled (please remember to link all cards) have different names, so you can have both of them out.

Note that this is different from the "Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule", which cares about planeswalkers' subtypes (such as "Liliana") rather than name (like Liliana of the Veil ).

August 22, 2014 1:34 a.m.

Yes. The legend rule checks for legendary permanents of the same name. Ob Nixilis, the Fallen and Ob Nixilis, Unshackled are legendary permanents with different names. You are allowed to have one of each on the battlefield without having to sacrifice one.

August 22, 2014 1:35 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #3

@Skalle_the_Reckless: The "legend rule" never causes players to sacrifice permanents. The "extras" get put into the graveyard as a state-based action. This is a relevant difference when cards like Savra, Queen of the Golgari exist.

August 22, 2014 1:56 a.m.

This discussion has been closed