Can I change the order of a triggered ability when a spell is cast?

Asked by S1ayerMonkey 1 year ago

I'm unsure of a certain stack interaction on the new Ovika, Enigma Goliath.
If I cast a Warstorm Surge and this triggers Ovika, can I stack the triggers so that the enchantment resolves and then the goblins enter, or do I have to leave it in the order they were placed on the stack?

Delphen7 says... Accepted answer #1

Warstorm will always enter after the tokens.

Ovika only triggers if you cast the spell.

601.2: "To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h)."

And Warstorm is only cast when it's put on the stack. Thus it's already on the stack when Ovika triggers (and subsequently resolves first)

January 24, 2023 6:37 p.m.

S1ayerMonkey says... #2


January 24, 2023 6:57 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

S1ayerMonkey: Since it's clear you got a satisfactory answer to your question and there don't seem to be and follow-ups or corrections to be made, I marked it as the "Accepted answer" so this topic can move out of the list of unanswered questions. In the future you can take care of this yourself using the "Mark as Answer" button on the response that you feel best answers your question.

January 25, 2023 12:53 p.m.

Please login to comment