Can Gyruda Revive Itself?

Asked by Reznorboy 6 months ago

Can Gyruda, Doom of Depths reanimate itself if it is sent to the GY before it's entering the battlefield ability resolves (such as by sacrificing it with Viscera Seer or the Legend Rule?) Or, does the ability not resolve because the card moved places, or is there some other reason?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

  1. In most situations, Gyruda cannot reanimate itself--it specifically says that the card you reanimate must be "from among those cards" that were just milled. In order to reanimate Gyruda with its own ability, you would need to first put Gyruda on top of your library with something like Civic Guildmage while Gyruda's ability is on the stack. Then, when Gyruda resolves, Gyruda would be among the cards milled and would be "from among those cards" that you can reanimate.

  2. Triggered abilities on the stack exist independently from their sources. Even if Gyruda is removed, the ability will still resolve.

November 14, 2020 6:12 p.m.

Please login to comment