Beast Within on Predator Ooze

Asked by jstache93 13 years ago

If I use Beast WithinMTG Card: Beast Within on my own Predator OozeMTG Card: Predator Ooze, do I still get a beast token?

KrazyCaley says... Accepted answer #1

Yep! Beast Within hits Predator Ooze and "destroys" it, but P.O. shrugs it off with indestructibility. Then you get a beast token.

March 1, 2012 7:52 p.m.

Polaris says... #2

A spell is countered (by game rules, not counterspells) only if it does not have a legal target when it resolves. If it has multiple targets and one of them becomes illegal, it still resolves and hits the others. Just because Predator OozeMTG Card: Predator Ooze is indestructible doesn't mean things can't TRY to destroy it. The same works with PolymorphMTG Card: Polymorph.

March 1, 2012 8:33 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

When the second part of an effect is dependent upon the first part of that same effect, the wording on the card will indicate it.

For example, Beast WithinMTG Card: Beast Within says "Destroy target permanent. Its controller puts a 3/3 green Best creature token onto the battlefield."

If Beast Within only produced a token if the permanent was destroyed, then it would be worded "Destroy target permanent. If that permanent was destroyed this way, its controller puts a 3/3 green Best creature token onto the battlefield."

March 1, 2012 10:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed