Attacking with Hellrider

Asked by rodrigomper 11 years ago

Hey guys, I wanted to know when Hellrider 's ability goes on the stack. Say I attack with it and in my phase of declaring attackers he uses a Lightning Bolt , killing my Hellrider . Does he still take 1 damage from the abilitie

rodrigomper says... #1

Sorry, forgot the "?" there

March 8, 2014 1:49 p.m.

Matsi883 says... #2

He does. Abilities exist independently of their sources.

March 8, 2014 1:49 p.m.

rodrigomper says... #3

Is it the same for Master of Cruelties ?

March 8, 2014 1:52 p.m.

raithe000 says... Accepted answer #4

Hellrider's triggered ability goes on the stack immediately after attacking creatures are declared, right when player's first get priority in the Declare Attackers step. Each trigger (you get one for each creature that attacked) will still resolve even if Hellrider is killed. The last chance your opponent has to kill your Hellrider and not take damage from it's ability is in the Beginning of Combat Step, before attackers are declared.

March 8, 2014 1:53 p.m.

raithe000 says... #5

Master of Cruelties trigger will also resolve even if Master of Cruelties dies, but it won't trigger until the declare blockers step.

March 8, 2014 1:54 p.m.

rodrigomper says... #6

Thank you!

March 8, 2014 1:56 p.m.

pskinn01 says... #7

Just remember, that you have to let your opponent know that you are "entering combat" before declaring attackers. At that time your opponent can kill Hellrider , without it's effect going on the stack. If you don't let your opponent know that you entered combat, they can make you go back to before it was declared, in which case the effect was never put on the stack.

The reason:
506. Combat Phase
506.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. The declare blockers and combat damage steps are skipped if no creatures are declared as attackers or put onto the battlefield attacking (see rule 508.4). There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4).

During each of these phases, each player has priority to cast spells or activate abilities. So your opponent has the chance to bolt any creature before any creature is declared as an attacker. If you state your are entering combat, and give the other player(s) the chance to react, then if they don't you declare attackers, and any ability that happens "when declared as an attacker" is put on the stack.

March 8, 2014 9:39 p.m.

This discussion has been closed