another soulbound question

Asked by Dirt3pz 13 years ago

Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator... the text on soulbound creatures dont tell me i cant soulbound others players creatures when they enter the battlefield, it just tells me they wont stay paired. But when do the paired function stop working?

lets say i got a Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator on the table,.. my enemy cast a Grave TitanMTG Card: Grave Titan,.. i soulbond my Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator and use its ability on the Grave TitanMTG Card: Grave Titan while the Grave TitanMTG Card: Grave Titan is on the stack.

i smile and put a gravetitan on my table, blink it a few times, and attack with a million tokens in my next turn ;p


is this legal?

Dirt3pz says... Accepted answer #1

ok i couldnt find the rulings page, so i made this topic. (perhaps i should have looked a little longer for the rulings, but im a little confused today, so i made a quick decision ;p)

Now i found it and read:

702.92a. Soulbond is a keyword that represents two triggered abilities. "Soulbond" means "When this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature YOU CONTROL for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control" and "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control."

so the two reasons why it dosnt work:

  1. is obvious actualy. They havent entered the battlefield before leaving the stack, so i cant soulbond anything while its still on the stack.
  2. the grave titan in this example is not my creature.
my dream just got smashed, but i kinda allready knew that it would be toooooo powerfull,.. i just hoped since i pulled 2 Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator's today.
May 19, 2012 3:47 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

To elaborate a bit on #2: you can't activate abilities of creatures you don't control, so regardless of whether your opponent's creature can remain soulbonded to your Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator, you wouldn't be able to activate its ability.

May 19, 2012 4:26 p.m.

Dirt3pz says... #3

well, in reality (if this worked the way i hoped, on the stack) then it would never become his creature.

The text on Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator says: return it to the battlefield under YOUR control...

I dont activate it, the card do it for itself when it becomes mine. That was the whole trick.

But sadly i cant pair with his creatures ever :(


as a side note:

I actualy feel that rule (you have to pair it with your own creatures) have been changed in last second for this card alone.

I could imagine a world where you could soulbond to enemy creatures to give them -x/-x, loose flying, tap them or other fun things.

May 19, 2012 5:34 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

In order for the ability conferred by Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator to return the card to the battlefield under your control, you have to be able to activate that ability and put it on the stack. At no point can you activate an ability of something you don't control unless that card specifically says you may (Feral HydraMTG Card: Feral Hydra, for example). You don't control the spell on the stack (which isn't technically a creature yet anyway) and you don't control the creature it becomes when it resolves under your opponent's control.

I think not being able to soulbond to opponent's creatures was half logical and half flavorful (how would they justify the flavor in two opposing creatures sharing a soul bond?).

May 19, 2012 5:42 p.m.

Dirt3pz says... #5

aahh... now i see what you are saying,... im a little slow ;p

i still dont see why a creature have to be ''freinds'' with another creature to make a soulbond flavor wise or mechanic wise...

im not even sure how you bond your soul with someone else, but if you have a rotten soul, you are gonna give sum negative soulbond. And then they say black creatures cant have a soul, WHY?! i know a zombie or a skeleton might not be able to have it,.. but why cant a black human have a soul? a corrupted soul is a soul aswell.

mby just release a new ability in next set called XXXX-bond, only given to black creatures?!!

May 19, 2012 8:24 p.m.

They'd justify it by making it Harry Potter and Lord Voldemort... But I hear you. Maybe it would be something like target creature gets -X/-X and gains __, since I can't see wizards making anything else.

Either way you couldn't do it. Soulbond triggers when it ETB, and once it ETB, it stops if it's controlled by an opponent, which means that in core you can't soulbond anything your opponent controls unless you gain it via Gather SpecimensMTG Card: Gather Specimens or something similar (Volition ReinsMTG Card: Volition Reins, anyone?).Aside from that, it might actually turn out to be a fun deck- Deadeye NavigatorMTG Card: Deadeye Navigator w/some of the titans-

May 19, 2012 10:17 p.m.

Morphisys says... #7

Fun fact about that deadeye navigator though, and I am willing to be proven wrong BUT. I built a deck around a "steal" theme and this is fun. You take control of opponents creature say with "Traitorous Instinct". until end of turn right? ok so now you control opponents creature. Blink Navigator, he enters the battlefield. Bond him to stolen creature, then blink stolen creature. Result: in exile, the "traitorous Instinct" you played falls of the stack because the card is "exiled" HOWEVER, Navigator says he returns to the battlefield under "your control". permanent theft! the deck I built is called Take Two, They're Small. play around with it a bit its fun. though I am still working some bugs out.

September 28, 2012 8:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed