Activated abilities of stolen permanents.

Asked by Ranthar 3 years ago

If my Commander is Admiral Beckett Brass and I user her ability to gain control of a permanent with an activated ability outside my color identity (i.e: Akroan Jailer), could I use a card like Chromatic Lantern or Mycosynth Lattice to use that ability?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, there is no restriction on the types of man's you can use in commander, only on the cards you can put in the deck.

November 17, 2017 10:25 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Note that this is a change from earlier versions of the Commander rules. It often seems like it takes a while for knowledge of Commander rules updates to finish spreading around the community.

November 17, 2017 11:05 a.m. Edited.

Ranthar says... #3

Thanks guys, I read a ruling about not being able to use mana outside of one's color identity. I just wanted to be sure.

November 17, 2017 6:43 p.m.

Please login to comment