Need help!!

Standard forum

Posted on Dec. 4, 2013, 6:17 p.m. by facecatHE1

Hi everyone! I need some help... imagine this:

on the battlefield: 3 elfs + Lys Alana Huntmaster.

cast: Elvish Promenade.

How many 1/1 tokens do i get? I'm really confused about this because i don't know if Lys Alana Huntmaster will create a token for each token created by Promenade. Hope u guys get the point.

Plz help

facecatHE1 says... #2

December 4, 2013 6:24 p.m.

Badhand says... #3

you get 5, 4 from Elvish Promenade then one extra token for huntmasters ability. huntmaster doesn't activate until promenade finishes.

December 4, 2013 6:26 p.m.

Badhand says... #4

also this is gonna get moved to Q&A probably

December 4, 2013 6:27 p.m.

z2aaa says... #5

bad hand is right cause creatures comming into play are not spells ur not casting them so you only get 1 trig from Lys Alana Huntmaster

December 4, 2013 6:50 p.m.

facecatHE1 says... #6

Thank you guys... I think those two cards will work well in my combo elf deck! :p

December 4, 2013 6:53 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.

December 4, 2013 6:54 p.m.

CW says... #8

shouldn't it be six cause of the huntmasters effect going on the stack after the spell?

so Lys Alana Huntmaster + 3 other elfs on the battlefield

Elvish Promenade goes on the stack, now the huntmaster triggers

5 elfs on the battlefield

now Elvish Promenade resolves, 5 more elfs

6 new elfs in total

December 4, 2013 6:58 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #9

@CW: You are correct. Lys Alana Huntmaster 's ability will be put onto the stack above Elvish Promenade , so you will have one token before Elvish Promenade resolves. Therefore, Elvish Promenade will generate an additional token for that one Elf.

December 4, 2013 7 p.m.

CW says... #10

Tapped into some Young Pyromancer experience for that.

December 4, 2013 7:05 p.m.

Badhand says... #11

huh, I always thought activated abilities go on the stack after whatever tripped their trigger, go CW.

December 4, 2013 7:05 p.m.

@Badhand: Activated abilities are not the same as triggered abilities. I assume you meant to write triggered abilities.

Also, they do go on the stack after whatever triggered them. That's why Lys Alana Huntmaster 's ability will be above Elvish Promenade . Elvish Promenade is an Elf spell, and will therefore trigger Lys Alana Huntmaster 's ability. The ability will be put onto the stack after Elvish Promenade , which means it will be on top of the stack and will resolve first.

December 4, 2013 7:08 p.m.

z2aaa says... #13

i originally thought play was when spell resolves cast was when u cast it

December 4, 2013 7:09 p.m.

z2aaa says... #14

i hate wording in magic it gives me head ache

December 4, 2013 7:10 p.m.

CW says... #15

Yeah I've been mixed up a lot about the stack before, for the first few months of playing I thought removing a source also removed an ability from the stack (killing a planeswalker in response to the ability), it just takes internet and a buttload of time to figure it all out, I'm glad I wasn't into mtg when damage also went on the stack.

December 4, 2013 7:11 p.m.

z2aaa says... #16

lol i miss damage on the stack lol

December 4, 2013 7:13 p.m.

facecatHE1 says... #17

I'm new to MTG so let me ask another question about Lys Alana Huntmaster .

It generates a token every time i put an elf on the battlefield right? Wirewood Elf for example

December 4, 2013 7:14 p.m.

Badhand says... #18

@Epochalyptik yes for meaning to type triggered. This is why I should just stay away from rules stuff and only play vanilla creatures :)

December 4, 2013 7:16 p.m.

z2aaa says... #19

when u cast a elf spell it dont trig when u put a elf on the battlefield like Elvish Piper since your not casting it

December 4, 2013 7:19 p.m.

@facecatHE1: No. Lys Alana Huntmaster 's ability triggers whenever you cast an Elf spell, which means whenever you cast a spell with the subtype Elf. Putting a card onto the battlefield is not the same as casting it. Casting a spell means putting it onto the stack.

December 4, 2013 7:19 p.m.

facecatHE1 says... #21

Not a great card then... thanks again!

December 4, 2013 7:23 p.m.

Badhand says... #22

@facecatHE1 if Wirewood Elf comes into play by you paying its mana cost then you "played" it, it goes on the stack and should trigger Lys Alana Huntmaster . Huntmaster wont trigger if you "put" an elf spell down thru another cards effect like z2aaa's example with Elvish Piper . unless I'm wrong again. . . but there is a difference between "putting" and "playing".

December 4, 2013 7:32 p.m.

This discussion has been closed