Summon under opponent's control

General forum

Posted on June 25, 2012, 2:35 p.m. by Dementare

I need to be able to give an opponent a creature and have them gain the "When comes into play" effects... is there a card that can do this. Doesn't matter where it comes form on my side... Hand/library/graveyard/some out of game place etc.... doesn't matter jsut needs to be treated as if it "Was just played" Or as "just summoned". anything that would trigger summoning sickness will do and have them be the "Controller/Owner" of it "As it comes into play". I thought I knew one but can't remember the name and have had no luck with text searches without going through EVERY card that has the words "in to play" "just summoned" ect.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

MTG Q&A is intended to be for rules-related questions. This is more a topic for either the General or Deck Help area of the forums.

Endless Whispers is the only such effect I can think of. Everything else gives control of something already on the battlefield. It would help if you told us what exactly you were trying to do, because there might be a better way (or it might not work the way you think it does).

June 25, 2012 3:01 p.m.

Dementare says... #3

Okay, sorry about posting in wrong area... well it's a Phage the Untouchable combo I'm working on. and I did just find Endless Whispers , so I guess that will work, need 4 mana for that and 2 to get phage out and die then they get him and game over... so 6 mana shouldn't be too hard for a first turn, a good one anyway.... But speaking of rules I do have a rules question... dealing with declaring new targets when you take control of a spell.... Say a spell targets a card in my hand, and puts it into play under my control, if I use Commandeer can I target the card in my hand and put it in play under someone else's control?

June 25, 2012 3:49 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

First, an effect only targets if it specifically uses the word "target" somewhere in its text. Second, changing the targets doesn't affect other things that aren't targets. If the player whose control the card would enter the battlefield under isn't a target of the effect, then changing the targets won't change who that player is.

June 25, 2012 3:54 p.m.

Dementare says... #5

okay so like using Commandeer on Flash wouldn't let me put in under their control? or would it? Didn't think so, but hoped.... two blue cards and 1 blue & 1 colorless mana is easier gotten first turn then, 2B 1U and 3 colorless....

June 25, 2012 4:08 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

No. Flash doesn't have any targets at all, so Commandeer and similar target-changing effects have absolutely no effect on it.

June 25, 2012 4:12 p.m.

This discussion has been closed