Forbidden Orchard Question

General forum

Posted on March 28, 2014, 12:30 p.m. by SilentArbiter

Making a token with the land is considered a triggered effect and thus can be responded to by instants, my question is can I choose the order if it is my spell? Scenario I have 1 Island 1 Plains and 1 Forbidden orchard, at the end of his turn I cast Opt and dig for a miracle, and then cast devastation tide with the plains and orchard for 1U. Can I have the land trigger go off first so my opponent is left with nothing rather than have the tide go off on the stack first then create the token?

Epochalyptik says... #2

First, rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.
Second, please link all cards in your question.
Forbidden Orchard
Opt
Devastation Tide

Forbidden Orchard 's second ability triggers when you activate its first ability. You can't choose the order of a triggered ability in relation to a spell.

You can, however, use some stack trickery. If you tap Forbidden Orchard to float mana before you begin the casting process for Devastation Tide , Forbidden Orchard 's triggered ability will trigger and go onto the stack first. If you tap Forbidden Orchard for mana during the casting process for Devastation Tide , the ability will be put onto the stack above Devastation Tide after the casting process is complete.

March 28, 2014 12:54 p.m.

SilentArbiter says... #3

Thank you and sorry for not posting in right section and adding links im still new to the site

March 28, 2014 1:01 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #4

For the purposes of Devastation Tide , it doesn't matter when you tap Forbidden Orchard .

If you tap Orchard for mana before you start casting Tide, then of course your opponent will have the token before you start casting Tide and the token will end up getting wiped out.

However, if you tap Orchard for mana during the casting process for Tide then the triggered ability will wait to be put onto the stack until the next time a player gets priority, namely when Tide is officially cast. The trigger will end up on top of Tide on the stack, which means it will resolve before Tide does. Your opponent will have the token before Tide starts resolving so it will still get wiped out.

March 31, 2014 9:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed