Brenard and Tarmogoyf?

General forum

Posted on June 1, 2024, 12:53 p.m. by Tsukimi

Hi all, I know Brenard replaces power and toughness when turning a creature into a token, so a / PT creature for example becomes a 1/1 but what about Tarmogoyf? Since it says plus is this ability still in effect?

Gidgetimer says... #2

You can link cards by enclosing their names in double brackets.

Brenard, Ginger Sculptor


Tarmogoyf has what is known as a "characteristic-defining ability" (CDA), as do all */* cards. When a copy effect changes a characteristic that is being defined by a CDA, the CDA isn't copied. Tarmogoyf will be a 1/1.

707.9d When applying a copy effect that doesn’t copy a certain characteristic, retains one or more original values for a certain characteristic, or provides a specific set of values for a certain characteristic, any characteristic-defining ability (see rule 604.3) of the object being copied that defines that characteristic is not copied.

June 1, 2024 10:20 p.m.

Please login to comment