Brave the Elements question

General forum

Posted on Feb. 22, 2014, 5:36 a.m. by Jairoe03

Okay, I understand and its fairly common to cast Brave in response to targeted creature spells/abilities etc., my question is in regards to what if it was the other way around, i.e. I first cast Brave the Elements and the opponent responds?

Under gatherer (here's link) Brave the Elements , it says once a color is chosen, its too late for players to respond.

Does that mean once I cast and declare a color, lets say black. If I cast it first, my opponent cannot respond with a Doom Blade or anything similar because I already declared color?

ljs54321 says... #2

That's correct. You don't choose the color until it begins to resolve and once it begins to resolve, it's too late to respond because nothing can be played during the resolution of a spell or ability.

Also, rules questions belong in Q&A

February 22, 2014 5:48 a.m.

Jairoe03 says... #3

Oops sorry, I peeked around for any other spot for something regarding rulings etc., guess Q&A didnt catch my eye. Think after poking around I understand, so technically someone can actually respond to a Brave the Elements because it didn't resolve yet and I don't get to choose a color until it actually resolves, so therefore, if Doom Blade came second in response to my Brave, the creature would end up dying unless I respond to the Doom Blade with another effect.

February 22, 2014 5:51 a.m.

ljs54321 says... #4

If you announce you are casting Brave the Elements and they ask what color, they are passing priority back to you and can no longer respond to it by killing the creature with Doom Blade (if black is the color you chose).

If they cast Doom Blade before you choose a color, then you would have to cast something else in response to protect it.

February 22, 2014 6:02 a.m.

Devonin says... #5

The important thing to remember is that if you say "I cast Brave the Elements choosing Black" you have actually technically cheated, or at the very least, given away information you didn't need to and shouldn't have. Since you don't choose the colour until the spell resolves, you have to give your opponent priority to respond to your announcement of the spell.

The proper play is to say "I cast Brave the Elements" and then wait for them to pass priority back before the spell resolves at which time you choose a colour, and your white creatures get protection from the chosen colour before anything else can happen.

February 22, 2014 11:54 a.m.

Jairoe03 says... #6

Okay cool, thanks. Think this'll help me out a lot now in using Brave. I just read the gatherer info and wanted to fully clarify how I should go about treating this card and being able to take advantage of that particular ruling of the card. Thanks a lot, this helps ;)

February 22, 2014 1:25 p.m.

Devonin says... #7

A lot of people fall for giving away too much info for cards who don't choose options until after resolution.

The most common abuse is people asking what you are choosing for Oblivion Ring and similar effects and then deciding whether to counter it or not. Once they ask you what your choice is, they've already let the spell resolve.

February 22, 2014 2:19 p.m.

MomsLoveMe says... #8

tldnr.

February 22, 2014 2:32 p.m.

This discussion has been closed