Aetherling Vs. Devour Flesh

General forum

Posted on Dec. 14, 2013, 4:03 p.m. by RokuganiPimp

If someone is forced to sacrifice an AEtherling to a card like Devour Flesh can they use the exile ability on the Aetherling to save it?

Thanks in advance!

GreatSword says... #2

Rules questions should be asked on the Q+A page.

Yes. AEtherling 's blink ability will resolve before the Devour Flesh . The player will then not have any creatures to sacrifice and nothing will happen.

What made you think otherwise?

December 14, 2013 4:08 p.m.

Behgz says... #3

It's what makes aetherling borderline busted, the guy just can't be touched.

December 14, 2013 4:28 p.m.

One option that I've seen wasted on AEtherling s is holding onto several removal spells until your opponent is near tapped out, then you can cast one, they exile, in response, cast another, they exile, (repeat/etc).

December 14, 2013 4:53 p.m.

SwiftDeath says... #5

Or you could just use Pithing Needle naming AEtherling so it can't use it's abilities and make it a vanilla 4/5 making it worse then Reaper of the Wilds . It also works against planeswalkers making some of the best sideboard against control and mono black cause you can name Pack Rat . I have started using it in a lot of matchups just to keep my opponents off of annoying triggers including Thassa, God of the Sea 's ability to make herself unblockable.

December 14, 2013 5:43 p.m.

xzavierx says... #6

if you want a good trick, try and kill their AEtherling during your end step. This means he'll be exiled on your opponents turn meaning he isn't able to attack. should buy you some time to try and find an answer.

December 14, 2013 6:01 p.m.

Nuggettt says... #7

They can't, however choose to sac AEtherling and blink in response to save another creature from being sacced (ex: he has AEtherling and Omenspeaker , you cast Devour Flesh and he sacs AEtherling he won't be able to blink him. The Omenspeaker will always die here)

December 14, 2013 9:08 p.m.

RokuganiPimp says... #8

No I get it they respond to the spell. The blink goes on the stack before devour flesh. The blink happens then devour flesh. If after the blink there are no creatures then devour flesh fizzles unless they have another creature in play they would then be compelled to sacrifice.

But say if Aethertling is their only creature in play and they only had 2 blue mana open and you had three devour flesh (or any 3 kill spells for that matter), you cast devour, they put a blink on the stack, you respond to that with a second devour flesh, they respond with a blink, you respond again with devour flesh. They've run out of blue mana, the stack ignites, your third devour flesh goes off and they're compelled to sacrifice aetherling, then the two blanks and other two devour flesh all fizzle.

December 15, 2013 2:14 a.m.

Slycne says... #9

RokuganiPimp "If after the blink there are no creatures then devour flesh fizzles unless they have another creature in play they would then be compelled to sacrifice." - Just to point out because sometimes it does matter, the spell doesn't fizzle or get countered by the rules. It resolves just fine, the effect just doesn't do anything on that boardstate.

But yes, typically the only way to kill an AEtherling is to have multiple instant speed removal spells.

December 15, 2013 2:24 a.m.

RokuganiPimp says... #10

that's a good point because of things like storm.

December 15, 2013 9:27 a.m.

Nuggettt says... #11

No, I'm actually correct here. I said that they can't choose to sac and blink in responce to save another creature from being sacced. AEtherling can always live through a Devour Flesh if you have mana up, he just can't save anyone else from being sacced.

December 15, 2013 9:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed