Katilda's Rising Dawn

Front:

Katilda, Dawnhart Martyr  Flip

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Planechase Legal
Pre-release Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Standard Legal
Standard Brawl Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Katilda's Rising Dawn

Legendary Enchantment — Aura

Enchant creature

Enchanted creature has flying, lifelink, and protection from Vampires, and it gets +X/+X, where X is the number of permanents you control that are Spirits and/or Enchantments. ((Remember the acronym debt for protection.) This can't be damaged, enchanted, equipped, blocked or targeted by Vampires..)

If this would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, exile this instead.

Coward_Token on Light-Paws vs Disturb

2 years ago

Polaris: Thanks for the confirmation.

Bonus question: Hypothetically, if Light-Paws instead said "Whenever you cast an Aura spell...", Katilda's Rising Dawn would still only let you fetch a (non-Disturb) Aura with a mana value of <= 3, because it'd use the MV of Katilda, Dawnhart Martyr  Flip?

Polaris on Light-Paws vs Disturb

2 years ago

Short answer: Light-Paws, Emperor's Voice doesn't work with disturb.

Long answer: You're correct. Katilda's Rising Dawn doesn't have a mana cost. Because of this, its mana value is zero.

This means that you could only find a zero mana Aura, of which there aren't any. Katilda's Rising Dawn and other disturb Auras don't count because they're the back faces of transforming double-faced cards (TDFCs), which means that you can't search for them (a DFC only has the characteristics of its front face in your graveyard, hand, library, and exile for the purposes of other effects finding it).

Unlike modal double-faced cards such as the ones from Strixhaven, you can only cast the front side of a TDFC. Katilda's Radiant Dawn can only be put into play by its disturb cost that puts it into play transformed.

Coward_Token on Light-Paws vs Disturb

2 years ago

I have Light-Paws, Emperor's Voice on the battlefield. I cast and resolve Katilda's Rising Dawn. Is it correct that Rising Dawn has a mana value of 0 for the purpose of Light-Paws' ability?