when are you considered to control a creature?

Asked by weisemanjohn 5 years ago

If I were to use the tap ability from Dragon Throne of Tarkir, would the benefits also effect creatures that enter the battlefield that turn after activating said ability? What if I were to use that ability in response to me casting a creature?

I would like to try to trigger Temur Ascendancy to let me draw a card with more than just my creatures that naturally have power 4+

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

Only static abilities will have the required effect you want, for example, Obelisk of Urd .

In the Dragon Throne example, only creatures currently present on the battlefield will benefit from the throne's effect, even if it was in response to casting a creature. If it was in response to casting a creature, then the ability of the Throne will resolve before the creature spell itself, so the creature will not have the effect (objects on the stack resolve in last in, first out order).

September 9, 2014 8:10 a.m.

This discussion has been closed