What happens if two replacement effects cause eachother to apply?

Asked by Yesterday 8 months ago

What happens if a Palisade Giant is enchanted with a Treacherous Link ?

As I understand it, if you own that creature and would take damage, it goes to be redirected to the creature, then Treacherous Link would go to direct the damage back to you... and then you would take the damage, as the replacement effect won't apply to the same thing twice?

Similarly, if the creature would be dealt damage, it would be redirected to you by the enchantment, then redirected back to the creature by its own ability, and then it would take the damage?

Do I have that right? Or maybe it has something to do with layers. Layers will be the death of me.

Yesterday says... #1

Inb4 "you meant to say 'control', not 'own'".

October 6, 2018 3:25 p.m.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

You have it correct. Layers have nothing to do with redirection even though replacement effects are continuous effects. All 7 layers are about changing the characteristics or control of objects so you don't even have to think about them with other continuous effects.

October 7, 2018 1:04 a.m.

Please login to comment