Vaultbreaker and Flamewake Phoenix

Asked by Circadian 4 years ago

If I use the dash ability on Vaultbreaker have him attack and discard Flamewake Phoenix , can I use the Ferocious ability on Flamewake Phoenix while it is in the graveyard to put it on the battlefield? Is it too late to do so since Vaultbreaker is already attacking? I don't really understand what ''At the beginning of combat" means when all of this is going on at once.

It's to late as your combat phase has already begun before you discarded the phoenix. Note combat phase begins as soon as you leave main phase 1 for the combat phase with attacks being declared after you have already begun your combat phase.

August 7, 2015 11:30 a.m.

Sam_I_am says... #2

No, it's too late to do so.

the "Beginning of Combat" step and the "Declare Attackers" step are completely distinct steps in the combat phase. the Beginning of Combat step is already over by the time the Declare Attackers step has started.


Additionally, Flamewake Phoenix's ability is a triggered ability, that triggers when the step begins. You can only pay mana when the ability resolves. You don't get to activate it on demand

August 7, 2015 11:31 a.m. Edited.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

The Combat phase has multiple steps:

  • Beginning of Combat
  • Declare Attackers
  • Declare Blockers
  • Combat Damage: First Strike (only if necessary)
  • Combat Damage: Regular
  • End of Combat

Anything that triggers "at the beginning of combat", like Flamewake Phoenix, triggers at the start of the Beginning of Combat step. In your example the Phoenix isn't in the graveyard until after this time has already passed. It won't trigger.

August 7, 2015 11:35 a.m.

Circadian says... #4

Wow those were prompt responses! Thanks guys!

August 7, 2015 12:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed