Rule for running out of the library.

Asked by Pheardemons 4 years ago

I understand the rule if you can't draw a card in your library you lose the game. However does that include cards that make you draw or just drawing for turn? Example if I want to use Griselbrand 's effect with only 5 cards left in my library, will I lose the game?

Epochalyptik says... #1

The rule doesn't care about why you're drawing the card. It just cares that you're attempting to draw from an empty library. You'll lose whether it's your draw for the turn or whether a spell or ability is making you draw.

July 21, 2015 9:54 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #2

So even if I have some of the cards in my library it still counts to lose the game because there was not a total of 7? (for Griselbrand's effect anyway)

July 21, 2015 10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

You will draw each remaining card until you reach a draw you can't make. The spell or ability will then do as much else as it can, and you'll lose the game as a state-based action when the resolution process is complete.

July 21, 2015 10:02 p.m.

Pheardemons says... #4

Thank you!

July 21, 2015 10:05 p.m.

This discussion has been closed