Psychic Possession - giving control to another player

Asked by Wolfrage76 2 years ago

So if I play Psychic Possession and target an opponent, it resolves, and then I give control of the enchantment to that player (playing Zedruu or something like Donate ), what happens? I was told the aura will just fall off since the enchanted player is no longer an opponent? I'm playing Zedruu and REALLY want to do this.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You were told correctly. The "Enchant N" ability on an aura defines what kind of object it can legally be attached to, and the text of a card is always talking to its controller (or owner, if it has no controller). If you give control of Psychic Possession to the player it's attached to, that player is not an opponent of themselves. This means the aura is attached to an illegal object and the rules of the game will un-attach it and put it into the graveyard.

July 3, 2017 2:10 p.m.

Wolfrage76 says... #2

OK thanks, that clears it up!

July 3, 2017 2:14 p.m.

Please login to comment