Progenitor Mimic trigger help

Asked by WalzY 12 years ago

As far as I'm aware, I think this is how Progenitor Mimic works. I need confirmation to know 100% certain without any doubt how it works before I use it please, so please only give solid guaranteed answers (it's kinda important).

1) If Progenitor Mimic enters the battlefield, and I copy a Thragtusk , I gain 5 life, and if my Progenitor Mimic doesn't die by my next upkeep, I will have another Progenitor Mimic token entering as a Thragtusk , gain 5 life, etc. each turn I will essentially get a free Thragtusk . - right?

Now, what happens if a Progenitor Mimic enters the battlefield as a copy of a Progenitor Mimic which has copied Thragtusk ? I assume it enters with the properties of a Thragtusk and I gain 5 life as that's the nature of the first Progenitor Mimic on the battlefield? Then I assume if nothing has died, on my next upkeep I will receive another 10 life, and two more copies of Progenitor Mimic with Thragtusk traits?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

1) Yes. The Progenitor Mimic copy of Thragtusk and all copies the Progenitor Mimic 's ability produces will have the upkeep triggered ability, but only the original's ability will trigger because only the original will not be a token.

2) Yes. Because the second Progenitor Mimic copies the text of the first Progenitor Mimic , it will have its own upkeep triggered ability and that of the first Progenitor Mimic , resulting in two free copies each upkeep.

April 29, 2013 12:26 p.m.

GreatSword says... #2

Your first scenario is correct. Your second one forgets one detail when the 2nd Progenitor Mimic copied the first: The 1st mimic had the ability "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this creature isn't a token, put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of this creature." So the 2nd mimic with copy that ability on top of it's own token-generating ability. So you'll actually get 3 token Thragtusk : 1 from the first mimc and 2 from the 2nd mimic.

April 29, 2013 12:29 p.m.

GreatSword says... #3

Mmmm, seems you did catch that. Ah well.

April 29, 2013 12:31 p.m.

WalzY says... #4

Wait, so Progenitor Mimic 1 is just producing one extra, per turn, but Progenitor Mimic 2 is producing 2 extra copies per turn... so a total of 3 copies? i.e. the 2nd Progenitor Mimic has two instances of copy creation BECAUSE it copied the first Progenitor Mimic and gained it's copying ability as well as it's own?

April 29, 2013 1:20 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Yes. Copy effects copy all the text of the object and any additional text specified by the copy effect itself. In this case, Progenitor Mimic is copying something that has the following text:

When ~ enters the battlefield, you gain 5 life.
When ~ leaves the battlefield, put a 3/3 green Beast creature token onto the battlefield.
At the beginning of your upkeep, if this creature isn't a token, put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of this creature.

In addition to that text, the second Progenitor Mimic is writing in another instance of the upkeep ability. Therefore, that particular Progenitor Mimic /Thragtusk will have two instances of the ability.

April 29, 2013 1:48 p.m.

meecht says... #6

What if you have Progenitor Mimic enter as a copy of land that's been animated, say through Hydroform or a man-land, like Celestial Colonnade ? Would you get token copies of lands, or does the specific use of "this creature" in the rules text prevent that from happening?

April 29, 2013 4:15 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

"This X" basically means "this object." It's just assumed that it will be a creature, but there are some cases in which it won't be. You'll still get token copies, though.

April 29, 2013 4:16 p.m.

This discussion has been closed