Possibility Storm and Unexpected Results

Asked by Oliwa 4 years ago

My understanding is, upon reading the text for Possibility Storm , once you have a found a card that shares a type with the original spell that triggered Possibility Storm, you may cast that card PRIOR to putting all the exiled cards back on the bottom of the library. So if you Possibility Storm into an Unexpected Results , all the cards that are exiled by Possibility Storm will remain exiled while you resolve Unexpected Results? Or is it that you put the cards back on the bottom prior to casting Unexpected Results.

filledelanuit says... #1

When you cast something it is put onto the stack and then both players must pass priority before the spell will resolve. So Possibility Storm will finish resolving before anyone can do anything. Then there will be a round a priority and then Unexpected Results will resolve.

TL;DR: Possibility Storm will finish then players can resolve then Unexpected Results will resolve.

August 28, 2014 11:31 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

"Cast" means "announce the spell, put it onto the stack, make all the choices, and pay all the costs". A spell or ability on the stack will only start resolving if all players pass priority while it's the topmost object on the stack. No one will get priority until Possibility Storm's ability is completely finished resolving.

August 28, 2014 11:52 p.m.

Oliwa says... #3

Thank you for the answers. I figured that Possibility Storm would fully resolve first prior to the spell you find with it being cast and put on the stack. The confusion part was how Possibility Storm is worded. "...That player may cast that card without paying its mana cost. THEN he or she puts all cards exiled with Possibility Storm on the bottom...." Making me think that somehow you actually cast it prior to returning the exiled cards.But I understand now, thank you.

August 29, 2014 5:40 p.m.

This discussion has been closed