Platinum Emperion and Madcap Experiment

Asked by belugawhaleonthefloor 7 months ago

So I understand the combo of Madcap Experiment and Platinum Emperion , but since madcap is a two part card, I’m wondering about a stack ruling. Like would I be able to kill the Emperion right as it enters, before the damage from Madcap goes off? Or does the whole spell resolve at the same time so there’s no time for me cast a spell destroying the Emperion until after the Madcap damage (or in this case, no damage) resolves?

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #1

When players can cast spells and activate abilities is governed by a system of priority. Players can not cast spells or activate abilities unless they have priority.

  1. The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually don’t get priority during the cleanup step.

  2. The active player receives priority after a spell or ability resolves.

  3. If a player has priority when they cast a spell, activate an ability, or take a special action, that player receives priority afterward.

  4. If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.

As you can see, no player receives priority in the middle of a spell or ability resolving. so no player can take any actions until Madcap Experiment has completely resolved.

August 7, 2018 8:22 a.m.

Cool thanks!

August 7, 2018 8:32 a.m.

Please login to comment