Need Help Figuring Out If This Works (rules wise}

Asked by Deadpoo111 7 months ago

So if I have King Macar, the Gold-Cursed and Aradara Express on the battlefield, can I tap the king to crew the vehicle even if it doesn't pay the full cost (I know the vehicle won't become a creature, just want to know if I can tap the king) I'm not super rules savvy, so if you could explain in layman's terms, it would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Hamroids says... Accepted answer #1

No, because it's activating a cost you have to either pay all or none of it. Due to the way Crew is worded, you can pay more than needed to activate the cost, but it doesn't work as a way to just tap a creature for free.

February 27, 2019 12:21 a.m.

Caerwyn says... #2

Hamroids is correct. Just so you can see exactly how it is worded, here is the rule:

702.121a Crew is an activated ability of Vehicle cards. "Crew N" means "Tap any number of untapped creatures you control with total power N or greater: This permanent becomes an artifact creature until end of turn."


In the future, if you have questions regarding rules, card texts, or card interactions, please use the Rules Q&A section of this site. It has some added functionality, such as the ability to "Mark as Answer" a post to indicate you no longer need help, keep the section less cluttered, and help future users quickly identify the correct response.

I have taken the liberty of moving this thread for you.

February 27, 2019 12:30 a.m.

Please login to comment