Multiplayer

Asked by Colten_Lee 4 years ago

Yesterday I took my opponents Olivia Voldaren and gave them Deathcult Rogue , via Daring Thief . Later, said opponent was eliminated from the game still controlling my Rogue. Do I get the Rogue back?? Why or why not??

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

One of the first steps of a player leaving the game is that all effects giving them control of objects they don't own end. The "exchange" effect of Daring Thief is a special kind of control-changing effect, so it ends. You get your Rogue back in this situation.

February 24, 2015 7:49 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #2

Yes, you do. Likewise, your Olivia Voldaren goes away, and all vampires you control because of her go back to their owners' hands.

February 24, 2015 7:49 p.m.

Devonin says... #3

They'd go back to their owner's control on the battlefield, Named_Tawyny, not their hand.

February 24, 2015 7:58 p.m.

Named_Tawyny says... #4

Yes, that's exactly what I meant. This is what I get for posting and texting friends at the same time. Mea Culpa.

February 24, 2015 7:59 p.m.

800.4a. When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game, any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end, and all spells and abilities controlled by that player on the stack cease to exist. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.

So basically what Rhadamanthus said, in rule form.

February 24, 2015 8:12 p.m.

Colten_Lee says... #6

That's what I told him. Even showed him that rule, but he refuses to agree. Any suggestions to get him to believe me?

February 24, 2015 8:59 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #7

Can he explain why he doesn't think the rule applies?

February 24, 2015 11:40 p.m.

Colten_Lee says... #8

Says the wording is weird.

February 25, 2015 1:19 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #9

That's not a reason =P

It means what it says and says what it means. "Any effects which give that player control of any objects ... end". Maybe the full text of the rule for what it means to "exchange control" of things will help:

701.8b When control of two permanents is exchanged, if those permanents are controlled by different players, each of those players simultaneously gains control of the permanent that was controlled by the other player. If, on the other hand, those permanents are controlled by the same player, the exchange effect does nothing.

February 25, 2015 10:27 a.m.

Colten_Lee says... #10

I know its not, but that's all he's got. XD Thanks guys

February 25, 2015 11:05 a.m.

This discussion has been closed