Merieke Ri Berit and Perplexing Chimera complicated question...

Asked by CoryDean 4 years ago

Sorry for the lousy title.

Perplexing Chimera and Merieke Ri Berit are on my opponent's field. I cast a spell and my opponent trades control of it with Perplexing Chimera , then taps Merieke Ri Berit to take Perplexing Chimera . I cast another spell, and he exchanges Perplexing Chimera again.

Here's my question: If Merieke Ri Berit untaps for any reason, since Perplexing Chimera isn't under Merieke Ri Berit 's control, will the untap still kill Perplexing Chimera ?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Merieke Ri Berit's current Oracle text is,

: Gain control of target creature for as long as you control Merieke Ri Berit. When Merieke Ri Berit leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped, destroy that creature. It can't be regenerated.

If Merieke Ri Berit becomes untapped, any creatures that were the target of its ability as it resolved will be destroyed. The ability creates a delayed triggered ability related to the target, and this DTA triggers when Merieke Ri Berit leaves the battlefield or becomes untapped for any reason. Because the effect says "destroy" rather than sacrifice, and because of its wording, it doesn't care who controls the creature at that time. All it cares is whether it's the same creature that Merieke Ri Berit's activated ability was targeting when it resolved.

July 19, 2015 7:24 p.m.

CoryDean says... #2

YES! You're so great. I was hoping I was on to something. Thank you.

July 19, 2015 7:26 p.m.

This discussion has been closed