Lotus Bloom + Prototype Portal

Asked by mpt9000 2 years ago

So i play Prototype Portal and then imprint Lotus Bloom to it. Does this mean that i can tap it and then it goes straight to the field undermining the suspension due to it not being played from the hand or do i need to go through the suspension regardless?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

You would simply put a token copy of Lotus Bloom onto the battlefield. Prototype Portal neither knows nor cares that the spell has no mana cost; all it knows is that it has a converted mana cost of 0, so it can make a token of it. Creating a token certainly isn't a way of casting a spell from your hand, so you can't suspend the creation of a token.

June 23, 2015 11 p.m.

mpt9000 says... #2

ah. i just wanted to clarify that real quick. but doesn't that combo seem a bit op? like the fact that you have 3 mana of every color at your disposal each turn as it constantly increases?

June 23, 2015 11:03 p.m.

Drilnoth says... #3

Eh, by the point you're doing that two-card synergy with Prototype Portal you may as well run Gilded Lotus, in my opinion.

Regardless, please remember to select an answer to remove this from the unanswered questions queue.

June 23, 2015 11:06 p.m.

mpt9000 says... #4

true. no prob.

June 23, 2015 11:08 p.m.

This discussion has been closed