Layer's Question Dance of the Skywise and Prowess

Asked by SixthSamurai 4 years ago

Scenario:

Dance of the Skywise on Elusive Spellfist ,

is it a 5/4 unblockable Illusion Dragon?

Dance of the Skywise on Battlewise Hoplite ,

is it a 5/5 Illusion Dragon because the +1/+1 counter stays?

Thanks!

raithe000 says... Accepted answer #1

Yes and yes.

Elusive Spellfist's ability will resolve before Dance of the Skywise, so it will have gained +1/+0 and will not be able to be blocked. It will not lose either effect because power/toughness modifiers are applied after base power and toughness changes in the layers, and because "unblockable" is not an ability, but rather a change to the rules governing the permanent.

Battlewise Hoplite's heroic ability will resolve before Dance of the Skywise, so as above the power/toughness modifier from the +1/+1 counter will remain even after base power and toughness are changed.

April 8, 2015 12:11 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #2

Those are both correct. The "Can't be blocked this turn" which the Spellfist has isn't an ability, so the Dance doesn't take it away. Since Dance's power and toughness setting apply before any effects which modify power and toughness the +1/+0 until end of turn (and the +1/+1 counter) continue to apply.

April 8, 2015 12:13 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@raithe000: It's worth noting that the order of resolution doesn't matter here because the P/T changes are applied in different layers.

April 8, 2015 12:15 a.m.

SixthSamurai says... #4

Thank's all just wanted to make sure

April 8, 2015 12:40 a.m.

This discussion has been closed