If steel overseer's ability is on the stack and it is destroyed does the ability remain on the stack if it still having legal targets?

Asked by urasa 6 years ago

This one came up in an online match for me recently.

The exact scenario involved on my side of the field Steel Overseer and a Memnite. steel overseer's ability was activated going onto the stack and the opponent casting a Dreadbore targeting Steel Overseer

KrosanTusker says... Accepted answer #1

First, the ability does not target. Abilities fizzle if their targets are removed, yes, but that does not apply here.

If the Steel Overseer is destroyed, then it's too late to stop the ability. If it's already been put on the stack, destroying the source of the ability won't stop the ability resolving.

June 18, 2014 4:10 p.m.

urasa says... #2

I thought this might be the case thank you for the clarification KrosanTusker much appreciated :)

June 18, 2014 4:14 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Dreadbore is a sorcery. It can't be used in response to anything.

June 18, 2014 4:55 p.m.

urasa says... #4

sounds like my opponent tried to cheat me twice then.

June 18, 2014 5 p.m.

This discussion has been closed