How does phasing and unearth effects work?

Asked by SirFowler 3 years ago

Let's say I cast Fatestitcher using unearth, use the ability, then before the end step, I cast Reality Ripple . Would it see it as a new creature after it phases back in? Or would the creature still exile when it leaves play because the unearth ability hasn't fully resolved?

merrowMania says... Accepted answer #1

Phasing in/out does not make a permanent a new object in the eyes of the rules; it never leaves the battlefield or changes zones, it just is ignored until it phases in again. Because of this, Fatestitcher is not exiled when it phases out, but it will still be exiled if it changes zones after phasing back in. As for the delayed triggered ability to exile an Unearthed permanent at the beginning of the next end step, it only triggers once, so if you phase out Fatestitcher with the exile trigger on the stack, you will not have to deal with the trigger exiling it.

August 10, 2016 12:22 a.m.

merrowMania says... #2

If you phase it out before putting the trigger on the stack, it will trigger again at the end step after it phases back in.

August 10, 2016 3:07 a.m.

SirFowler says... #3

Thank you. I had a feeling that you can't get past exiling the creature, but I wasn't too sure.

August 10, 2016 8:12 a.m.

This discussion has been closed