How can you Shock a planeswalker?

Asked by belugawhaleonthefloor 6 months ago

So I read an article which says you have to target the player with Shock but then before it resolves you may choose to redirect it to a planeswalker since you can't actually target this. Is there an explanation for this or is it just a rule that planeswalkers have. Also how would that effect CancelFor example if my opponent says "I'm targeting you with Shock" and I say "Okay I have 20 life I can easily take the 2 damage." But then he redirects the damage to my planeswalker which kills it. After he states the redirection, do I still have the ability to Cancel it to save my planeswalker or did the damage resolve when I told him that I would just take the 2 damage.

Quantumsandwich says... Accepted answer #1

The player casts Shock targeting you, then chooses whether or not to redirect the damage to you as the spell resolves. As such, you do not get to see if he wants to hit you or the planeswalker before deciding to Cancel it.

306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied. #

May 18, 2017 1:59 p.m.

So wait how does redirection in other cases work? Are you able to target one creature with a spell and then redirect it to a different creature? Or even cast a spell on one player and then redirect it onto a different player, making them unable to cancel it? I was unaware that you were able to redirect any damage in general without using a card like Redirect

May 18, 2017 2:05 p.m.

Redirection is only allowed in cases where the rules say you can do so. For more info you can look at the rules here: http://mtg.gamepedia.com/Redirection_effect)

So to answer you generally, no, you can't just redirect damage around willy nilly. There needs to be a rule or card that specifically says you can do so. In this case, the rule is rule 306.7.

May 18, 2017 2:16 p.m.

Cool thanks

May 18, 2017 2:20 p.m.

Please login to comment