Hostage Taker Confusion

Asked by Bennay 10 months ago

Hey all, this is a simple question. I understand the rulings on hostage taker that are posted on gatherer.

However, I've run into this situation several times.

Example, Hostage Taker exiles a creature my opponent controls. I then cast the creature in exile. Now i't considered a 'new' object and I now control the creature/artifact in question.

When this creature dies, my opponents always seem to think they 'get their creature back', but this isn't the case correct? If the creature would die it would go to my graveyard at this point, right?

pskinn01 says... Accepted answer #1

No, when a creature dies, it goes into its owners graveyard.

November 12, 2017 2:08 p.m.

Actually no.You may cast that creature, and you control it, but you are not the owner.This means, if it dies, your opponent gets the corpse back.

November 12, 2017 2:09 p.m.

landofMordor says... #3

Prior posters are correct -- it'll go to your opponents' gy, NOT their side of the battlefield.

November 12, 2017 3:44 p.m.

Argy says... #4

Just to clarify, if your Opponent kills your Hostage Taker BEFORE you cast the Creature it has Exiled, then the Exiled Creature returns to your Opponent's side of the field.

That's probably what is causing the confusion.

November 13, 2017 1:45 a.m.

Please login to comment