help regarding possible combo for Basandra, Blazing Archon and Angelic Arbiter

Asked by Mirabilis 5 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to EDH scene and something complicated.

Player1 used Basandra, Battle Seraph, Blazing Archon and Angelic Arbiter to do the following: 1. Force the opponent to attack during their turn via Basandra, Battle Seraph. 2. Since player1 has Blazing Archon out, the opponent still can't attack.

The issue is, does Angelic Arbiter abilities really trigger in this scenario?

Drilnoth says... Accepted answer #1

Okay, so:

Basandra, Battle Seraph forces a creature to attack if able. Blazing Archon makes it impossible for creatures to attack its controller. If the game has only two players (one with both Basandra and the Archon) then Basandra's ability doesn't really do much. In a multiplayer game, Basandra's ability would still force the creature to attack, they just couldn't attack the player controlling the Archon.

Angelic Arbiter is also quite simple. If the controller of the creature which is forced to attack by Basandra casts a spell before combat, then that player can't attack. The creature is no longer able to (remember, Basandra says "if able") and so doesn't. On the other hand, if the creature attacks, then its controller won't be able to cast spells this turn (assuming the Arbiter remains in play).

Also, note that Angelic Arbiter has three static abilities (the first of which is flying), and no triggered abilities. Triggered abilities always include the word "When," "Whenever," or "At."

July 12, 2014 7:06 a.m.

Mirabilis says... #2

Thanks Drilnoth. It did felt wrong when player1 said it was a pseudo lock by forcing an attack on with a Blazing Archon plus casting no spells via Angelic Arbiter. Will update the local folks here.

July 12, 2014 7:16 a.m.

Matsi883 says... #3

If they have trouble, point out the words if able on the card. That should clear up everything but the worst trolls.

July 12, 2014 8:26 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #4

And if they still aren't convinced, direct them to sections 508.1d and 508.1e of the comprehensive rules. Take a look.

July 12, 2014 7:08 p.m.

Mirabilis says... #5

Thanks man, I still feel for the guy, like it was genius moment for him. but does not really work @Matsi883Well, most of us are ok with it. except the one who though of it. probably still mad that his "pseudo" lock really does not trigger. props for digging for the rules @Drilnoth

July 15, 2014 11:25 a.m.

This discussion has been closed