Handling triggers: Flamewake Phoenix and Hazoret's Favor

Asked by scowyrtha 1 year ago

If I have Flamewake Phoenix in my graveyard, as well as a 2/2 creature and Hazoret's Favor on the battlefield, can I arrange the "beginning of combat" triggers from both phoenix and favor so that the 2/2 creature gets +2/+0 and haste with hazoret's favor, the phoenix then sees a 4/2 creature, and then the phoenix can be returned to the battlefield with its ferocious ability?

Boza says... Accepted answer #1

No. From Gatherer:

11/24/2014: Flamewake Phoenix's ferocious ability triggers only if Flamewake Phoenix is in your graveyard and you control a creature with power 4 or greater at the beginning of combat on your turn. Additionally, the ability will check to see if you control a creature with power 4 or greater again as it resolves. If you don't, the ability will have no effect.

By the time Hazoret's Favor's trigger has resolved, the begining of combat has already passed; Pheonix will never trigger.

January 25, 2018 10:16 a.m.

Please login to comment