Fusing Far // Away against a God

Asked by zandl 5 years ago

My opponent controls a Divinity of Pride and Heliod, God of the Sun and nothing else for creatures or non-land permanents. If I Fuse Far / Away and target the Divinity with Far, does Heliod get sacrificed?

I need rules and sources in the answer. My group of eight friends have been arguing this for the past hour at FNM.

ljs54321 says... Accepted answer #1

I can't cite a specific rule off the top of my head, but when fusing a split card, they resolve left side first, then right (basically 2 separate spells). This means the Divinity of Pride would go to hand, making Heliod, God of the Sun immediately stop being a creature and therefore not able to be sacrificed.

May 31, 2014 1:38 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #2

ljs54321 is correct, but here's the specific rule.

702.101d As a fused split spell resolves, the controller of the spell follows the instructions of the left half and then follows the instructions of the right half.

May 31, 2014 1:44 a.m.

ljs54321 says... #3

Also, this uses almost this exact example except with Thassa instead of Heliod.

May 31, 2014 1:55 a.m.

Drilnoth says... #4

Also, if you're unsure of rules in a sanctioned tournament, including an FNM tournament, you should usually be able to ask the judge (which essentially defaults to the tournament organizer, such as the store owner, though different stores handle it differently).

May 31, 2014 3:52 a.m.

FALLEN-X-ANGEL says... #5

Since it's to the left first, you choose your target for the first half to resolve. Which returns the Divinity of Pride once that has happened your opponent is forced to sacrifice Heliod and you will be able to get rid of it. (As long as heliod is the only creature).

I know for a fact that your friends are going to say "It's just a bunch of smartasses that 'think' they know what they're talking about" I've been there so here's the section about fuse.

702.101. Fuse

702.101a Fuse is a static ability found on some split cards (see rule 708, Split Cards) that applies while the card with fuse is in a players hand. If a player casts a split card with fuse from his or her hand, the player may choose to cast both halves of that split card. This choice is made before putting the split card with fuse onto the stack. The resulting spell is a fused split spell.

702.101b A fused split spell has two sets of characteristics and one converted mana cost. The converted mana cost of the spell is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its two mana costs, regardless of color.

702.101c The total cost of a fused split spell includes the mana cost of each half. (See rule 601.2e.)

702.101d As a fused split spell resolves, the controller of the spell follows the instructions of the left half and then follows the instructions of the right half.

May 31, 2014 5:23 a.m.

FALLEN-X-ANGEL says... #6

Your friend could play it out though as "In reaction" they pay the 4 mana and get a 2/1 cleric token out and sacrifice that instead. Hope most of that helped :D

May 31, 2014 5:24 a.m.

FALLEN-X-ANGEL says... #7

I forgot about the devotion to heliod -_-

May 31, 2014 5:26 a.m.

This discussion has been closed