First Strike vs. Double Strike?

Asked by onthestack 2 years ago

Say Porcelain Legionnaire blocks a Mirran Crusader .. Who wins? Do they both die or does Double Strike have an edge against the Legionnaire? Please clarify.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Whenever combat involves creatures with first or double strike, a new combat damage step is created in which only creatures with first or double strike deal combat damage.

Porcelain Legionnaire and Mirran Crusader will deal first strike combat damage to each other at the same time. They will kill each other before the normal combat damage step.

506.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. The declare blockers and combat damage steps are skipped if no creatures are declared as attackers or put onto the battlefield attacking (see rule 508.4). There are two combat damage steps if any attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4).

510.5. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

January 17, 2012 7:17 a.m.

Please login to comment