Does Turn (of Turn // Burn) negate abilities granted by enchantments?

Asked by MinscAndBoo 5 years ago

Suppose my Serra Angel has a Holy Mantle on it. I attack with her and my opponent casts Turn / Burn (Turn part only) on her. Does she become a 2/3 with no abilities or a 2/3 with protection from creatures?

nighthawk101 says... #1

Serra Angel with Holy Mantle Turn ed would become a 2/3 with protection from creatures. The Angel's P/T is set to 0/1, then the buff from the Mantle applies. The Angel itself has no abilities, but the pro creatures is an ability of the Mantle itself.

June 13, 2014 5:39 p.m.

MinscAndBoo says... Accepted answer #2

Wait...no, I think she loses the protection. Both the Turn effect and the Holy Mantle effect are continuous abilities (the former with a duration until EOT, the latter with no duration). They apply in timestamp order, so the Turn would remove the ability (regardless of what granted it). If I then cast Aerial Maneuver on the Serra, she'll gain flying again. A second Turn would remove that flying. Can anyone back me up, or does williamgp99 have it right? :)

June 13, 2014 5:49 p.m.

MinscAndBoo says... #3

Continuous effects rather

June 13, 2014 5:49 p.m.

nighthawk101 says... #4

Oh wait, I'm wrong. I looked for an example and found example 2 here.

Sorry, I got confused with layers. MinscAndBoo is right.

June 13, 2014 6:36 p.m.

This discussion has been closed