Does reducing a card's cost alter it's CMC?

Asked by Nef 5 years ago

Say an opponent has an Etherium Sculptor on the field.
He then tries to cast another one. Can I counter it with Spell Snare or is its cmc now 1, not 2?

jonhydude says... #1

No it does not.

July 14, 2014 9:42 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Nothing EVER changes CMC. CMC is always derived from the values printed in the upper right corner of the card.

Effects that change the amount of mana required to cast a spell never change the mana cost of that spell, nor do they affect CMC. What they do affect is the casting cost of the spell, which is typically the mana cost plus any additional or increased costs and minus any cost reductions.

July 14, 2014 9:42 p.m.

Nef says... #3

Ok thank you!

July 14, 2014 10:09 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Please remember to select an answer to remove this from the active queue.

July 14, 2014 11:16 p.m.

Nef says... #5

Sorry, never asked a question before...

July 14, 2014 11:19 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

The last step is more of a courtesy thing. I go through and clear out answered-but-active questions a few times a day. Doing it on your own just saves me an extra step if you remember.

July 14, 2014 11:38 p.m.

Nef says... #7

Ok I will make sure to remember too in the future! :)

July 15, 2014 12:33 a.m.

This discussion has been closed