Do keyrunes have summoning sickness when they are changed to a creature?

Asked by amokery 5 years ago

If the keyrune has been out for more than one round can it be converted into a creature and used as an attacker on your round? What if it was just played onto the battlefield?

meecht says... #1

As a creature, it cannot attack in the same turn it was cast.

As an artifact, it can be tapped for mana in the same turn it was played.

October 25, 2012 3:01 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

When a non-creature becomes a creature, it follows all the usual rules for creatures. What matters is whether you've controlled it continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn (including the current one). Waking up a Keyrune doesn't cause it to leave your control or become a new object, so as long as it's been on the battlefield long enough, you're fine.

October 25, 2012 3:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Just a note: if you animate a Keyrune and it still has summoning sickness, you won't be able to tap it for mana.

October 25, 2012 3:12 p.m.

Denial048 says... #4

I knew it! Me and a friend were arguing about this when the new sets came out, I said they could attack, they said they couldn't.

October 25, 2012 4:09 p.m.

meecht says... #5

If it had summoning sickness when it was transformed, then the ability of Izzet Keyrune would be useless because a blocking creature won't deal combat damage to a player.

October 25, 2012 4:26 p.m.

This discussion has been closed