can you have discard 1 card for 2 Lotleth Troll's ability?

Asked by DarthTrevyn 5 years ago

I have been having trouble finding the answer to this question.

Let's say I have 2 Lotleth Trolls on the field. I discard Gravecrawler from my hand into the graveyard. Do both Lotleth Trolls get a counter or does just one of my choosing?

DarthTrevyn says... #1

sorry for the messed up title :P

October 23, 2012 5:40 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

No. When you activate an ability, you must pay its cost. You can't activate two instances of an ability by paying the cost for one of them the same way you can't cast two spells for the same mana or activate one ability infinite times by paying its cost once.

If Lotleth Troll had a triggered ability that triggered upon you discarding a creature card, it would be different because now you aren't paying a cost.

October 23, 2012 5:42 p.m.

vonnegut says... #3

no. it would read "discard a creature card: put a +1/+1 counter on each creature named Lotleth Troll" i believe.

October 23, 2012 5:42 p.m.

DarthTrevyn says... #4

Thank you both! That helps clear up a lot of confusion! :D

October 23, 2012 5:44 p.m.

This discussion has been closed