Can I return a shrapnel blasted Scuttling Doom Engine?

Asked by NaruKeto 5 years ago

Someone just brought this up to me. Opponent has Scuttling Doom Engine and they cast Shrapnel Blast on it. In response, could I return their Scuttling Doom Engine back to their hand with Voyage's End ? They said it won't work because the Engine is being sacrificed as a part of Shrapnel Blast's cost.

Devonin says... Accepted answer #1

They are correct.

To put a spell on the stack, you have to announce the spell, choose the targets, and pay the costs. Then it goes onto the stack and you have priority to respond. By the time you can respond to Shrapnel Blast , the Scuttling Doom Engine is in the graveyard.

August 20, 2014 1:56 p.m.

NaruKeto says... #2

Gotcha. Thanks

August 20, 2014 1:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed