Can I discard a creature I returned with K-Command?

Asked by Kisheek 3 years ago

I am running a standard deck based around Madness. My question is based around the following turn: (one card in hand, Kolaghan's Command , no creatures on field, Asylum Visitor in the yard)

-Opponent moves to end step

-I cast Kolaghan's Command , modes: return Asylum Visitor and discard, targeting myself.

-I return Asylum Visitor and discard it, paying its' madness cost to cast it.

Is this a legal play? My opponent said no, because you return and discard at the same time and so would not have it in your hand to discard. My understanding, however, is that modal spells resolve in printed order, meaning that the "return" would happen, then the "discard" would happen afterwards.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

All spells and abilities are handled in the way they're written. The first written instruction is performed first, and the last written instruction is performed last.

You'll return the card to your hand for the first mode and then be able to discard it for the next mode.

April 29, 2016 10:33 a.m.

Kisheek says... #2

Thanks! :D

April 29, 2016 1:57 p.m.

This discussion has been closed