Athreos's Effect for multiple dead creatures?

Asked by mtgko 5 years ago

Let's say I have five enchantment creatures and an Athreos, God of Passage on my battlefield, and my opponent plays Back to Nature. This would allow my opponent to destroy all five of my enchantment creatures if I don't have anything in response. In this case, how would Athreos's effect trigger? Would I be able to return all five of those creatures to my hand if my opponent chooses not to pay 3 life per creature?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Athreos' ability triggers every time one of your creatures dies, which means it will trigger 5 times in your example (once for each creature). Your opponent makes the choice of whether or not to pay 3 life for each of the 5 triggers. Those choices are made independently of one another.

September 5, 2014 4:01 p.m.

This discussion has been closed