Artifact Spells

Asked by PoorFredNoonan 6 years ago

What exactly counts as an artifact spell for Myrsmith, if I have a Semblance Anvil in play, does every time I cast a card at a discounted rate count as an artifact spell?

xo2 says... #1

Any spell that has ''artifact'' in the type. It does not count if you cast a card with semblance anvil discount. Also, you get the discount if you exiled a card that shares a type with it.

June 26, 2011 7:58 p.m.

PoorFredNoonan says... #2

Wait, are all cards considered spells?

June 26, 2011 11:18 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

Lands are not spells.

Anything else is, at least for a time, a spell. When you cast any spell with the type "artifact" listed on the card (exceptions are the artifact lands from Mirrodin), Myrsmith can be activated.

June 26, 2011 11:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

Also, casting at an altered or alternative cost is still casting.

June 26, 2011 11:23 p.m.

@xo2 why would the discount from the anvil stop an artifact spell from triggering Myrsmith ?

if you use an artifact for the anvil all artifacts cost 2 less to cast and even if you cast an artifact for 0 you can pay 1 with Myrsmith to put a myr onto the battlefield

June 27, 2011 3:30 a.m.

This discussion has been closed