Arbiter of the Ideal: Play more than one land?

Asked by mtgko 5 years ago

Arbiter of the Ideal has an inspired ability that allows the player to reveal the top card of the library, and if it's an artifact, creature, or land, it can be placed on the battlefield for free... But is it possible to play a land this way AND also from the hand? I bet the "one land per turn" rule still applies here.

erabel says... Accepted answer #1

Relevant thing from the comprehensive rules:

305.4. Effects may also allow players to "put" lands onto the battlefield. This isn't the same as "playing a land" and doesn't count as a player's one land played during his or her turn.

September 9, 2014 2:46 a.m.

Nemesis says... #2

Actually, since arbiter of the ideal doesn't make you play the land, but instead puts it into play because of its effect, you still get your land play that turn. so you can use the inspired ability to put a land into play then use your land play to play one yourself.

September 9, 2014 2:46 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

This same question was asked not too long before you posted yours.

The game uses very specific terminology for certain things to try to reduce confusion. The act of "playing" a land is one of those terms, and only effects that talk about "playing" a land count as a land play. Arbiter of the Ideal doesn't "play" the land, so it doesn't count as a land play. Compare this to Chandra, Pyromaster , who does talk about "playing" things (here, "play" means "play it if it's a land and cast it if it's a spell").

September 9, 2014 10:31 a.m.

This discussion has been closed