Arbiter of the Ideal causing me to play lands...

Asked by UpperDeckerTaco 4 years ago

Let's say Arbiter of the Ideal 's inspired ability caused me to put a land into play, would that mean I can play an additional land that turn? Because it didn't specifically say I may "play" the land, only to just put it onto the battlefield.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

You've noted the important distinction. Effects that cause you to put a land onto the battlefield are not the same thing as playing a land for the turn. You won't use a land drop.

September 8, 2014 10:13 p.m.

Sweet! Possible two lands per turn.

September 8, 2014 10:23 p.m.

But what would happen if there were two Arbiter of the Ideal on my side of the board and both inspired abilities took place? Would they happen simultaneously or 1 after the other (so I get to do it twice)?

September 9, 2014 12:19 a.m.

Boza says... #4

all abilities and spells on the stack resolve one at a time, in LIFO (last in, first out) order. In the case of controlling multiple triggers or abilities that happen at the same time, they are put on the stack in the order that their controller desires. In the case of the inspired triggers, they are litelrally the same, so order should not matter, but they do in fact resolve one at a time.

September 9, 2014 2:31 a.m.

This discussion has been closed