Any creature + Hunter's Prowess + Twinflame

Asked by DrFuzzyGloves 4 years ago

Hunter's Prowess says creature gains "x effect". Since the card added that to said creature, of I Twinflame that creature does Hunter's Prowess also copy? It would make sense to me that it would, bit I'd hate to count on that and not have it work. It would also make sense to me that the card draw would copy but the +3/+3 and trample would not. Based on card text, the creature GETS the bonus and trample, but it HAS the draw effect. Just wanted to know. This is the same as with other copy cards and similar card effects.

zeldazach says... #1

Unfortunately, that's not how it works.

Following the layer system, Copy effects take place in the first layer. The effects of Hunter's Prowess take place in the 7th layer, so they don't apply.

You're copying the card as it is written, excluding any kinds of effects that have happened to the card.

November 7, 2014 1:41 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

No.

Always check the Gatherer rulings for the cards in your question.

4/26/2014: The tokens copy exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing else (unless that permanent is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesnt copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on.

Copy effects copy only the printed text of the original object plus any copy effects applying to either the original or the new object.

November 7, 2014 1:43 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@zeldazach: You're misapplying the layer system. Copy effects in the layer system are concerned with turning the original object into a copy of something else, not with spells or abilities that create copies of the object in question.

November 7, 2014 1:45 p.m.

zeldazach says... #4

@Epochalyptik Ahh ok, thanks for pointing that out!

November 7, 2014 1:47 p.m.

DrFuzzyGloves says... #5

Fair enough, its just an odd wording on a lot of cards that say the creature "has" this, so of you're newer to competitive, then something like that would not be clear. Thanks for answering. Would a been a fun combo with enough mana.

November 7, 2014 2:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed