Anax and Cymede, Valduk, First Main Phase

Asked by bj_bancroft 1 year ago

If I cast a spell targeting Anax and Cymede firing my first main phase while Valduk, Keeper of the Flame is enchanted with an aura, will Valduk's Elemental token receive the +1/+1 benefit during the combat phase?

ClockworkSwordfish says... Accepted answer #1

Unfortunately, no. Rule 611.2c dictates that any temporary effect will only affect creatures already in play when they resolve (so long as they modify the characteristics of cards and not the rules of the game.)

To writ: 611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.)

June 17, 2018 1:53 p.m.

Please login to comment