A Question about two effects triggered at the same time

Asked by hsvstar2003 4 years ago

In this scenario I have Vesuvan Shapeshifter in play as a copy of Krosan Cloudscraper . Now at the beginning of my next upkeep two effects trigger (Sacrifice Krosan Cloudscraper and turn Vesuvan Shapeshifter face down). I am pretty sure that I can chose which effect goes on the stack first. I want the Shapeshifter's effect to resolve first and turn it face down and not pay the GG. What happens to the effect of Krosan Cloudscraper which is still on the stack after I turned Vesuvan Shapeshifter face down? Does it fizzle? Or will I still need to pay GG?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

A spell or ability only "fizzles" if it is countered by the game rules for having zero remaining legal targets. Krosan Cloudscraper's ability doesn't target anything, so it can't fizzle.

Whenever a card uses its own name in its text, the use is self-referential and means "this object." (The only exception is if the use is qualified by something like "a card named ~.") So when Krosan Cloudscraper's ability triggers, it cares only about the permanent that is the source of that ability. Even if the permanent changes characteristics before the ability resolves, the ability will still force you to pay or sacrifice that permanent.

August 9, 2015 5:54 p.m.

hsvstar2003 says... #2

Thank you, very cohesive!

August 9, 2015 6:10 p.m.

hsvstar2003 says... #3

*concise

August 9, 2015 6:13 p.m.

This discussion has been closed